TAKE ACTION against secret searches for deans, provosts, presidents

The House Education Committee will hear HB 351 on Thursday, April 6, 2017, at 8:00 am. This bill—sponsored by Representative Bob Rommel (R) Naples —will create an exemption from public record and public meeting requirements for information associated with the applicant recruitment process and discussions associated with the applicant search for president, vice president, provost, or dean of any state university or FCS institution.

What Can You Do
Please call committee members at their district or Tallahassee office today and ask them to vote NO on HB 351. Calling is more effective than e-mails, but any contact is needed now. Do not use university or college computers or phones to make such requests.

Talking Points

  • Secrecy is not in the best interest of our universities and colleges, especially when it comes to choosing the leadership.
  • The people of the state of Florida—especially students and their parents—deserve the right to know how their tax dollars are being spent and how major decisions that affect these public institutions are made.
  • Barbara Petersen, President of the First Amendment Foundation: “To shield the selection process from public oversight and accountability is, we believe, bad public policy.” (2015)
  • The UFF Senate has unanimously opposed such legislation.


Member of Committee

District Office

Tallahassee Office

E-mail Address

Michael Bileca (R) Chair (305) 273-3235 (850) 717-5115 Michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov
Robert Cortes (R) V-Ch (407) 262-7420 (850) 717-5030 Robert.cortes@myfloridahouse.gov
Larry Ahern (R) (727) 395-2512 (850) 717-5066 Larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov
Manny Diaz (R) (305)364-3072 (850)717-5103 Manny.diaz@myfloridahouse.gov
Byron Donalds (R) (239)417-6270 (850)717-5080 Byron.donalds@myfloridahouse.gov
Chris Latvala (R) (727)724-3000 (850)717-5067 Chris.latvala@myfloridahouse.gov
Rene Plasencia (R) (321)383-5151 (850)717-5050 Rene.plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov
Mel Ponder (R) (850)833-4713 (850)717-5004 Mel.ponder@myfloridahouse.gov
Elizabeth Porter (R) (386) 719-4600 (850) 717-5010 Elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov
Jake Raburn (R) (813)653-7097 (850)717-5057 Jake.raburn@myfloridahouse.gov
Charlie Stone (R) (352)291-4436 (850)717-5022 Charlie.stone@myfloridahouse.gov
Jennifer Sullivan (R) (352)742-6275 (850)717-5031 Jennifer.sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov
Shevrin Jones (D), Ranking Member (954)893-5010 (850) 717-5101 Shevrin.jones@myfloridahouse.gov
Bruce Antone (D) (407) 445-5313 (850) 717-5098 Bruce.antone@myfloridahouse.gov
Robert Asencio (D) (305) 222-4122 (850) 717-5118 Robert.asencio@myfloridahouse.gov
Kamia Brown (D) (407) 905-3806 (850) 717-5045 Kamia.brown@myfloridahouse.gov
Larry Lee (D) (772) 595-1391 (850) 717-5084 Larry.lee@myfloridahouse.gov
Barrington Russell (D) (954) 497-3367 (850) 717-5095 Barrington.russell@myfloridahouse.gov